Bai Chay Beach
Bai Chay Beach in Halong Bay
Bai Chay Beach is a famous tourist destination in Halong Bay. Before, it was named as “Va Chay”(scorched beach). In the past, this area was a place where fisherman maintained their wooden boat by fire. Because of fire and smoke, this place was named as Bai Chay or scorched beach.
According to the locals, Bai Chay got its name long ago, based on another historical event. Bai Chay was once a forest. In 1287, the Mongols led by the great Truong Van Ho (a Mongolian general) attacked Vietnam and was driven back by general Tran Khanh Du. Many Mongolian ships were set afire and drifted to shore aided by high wind setting the forest on fire. Since then this stretch of beach became known as Bai Chay or scorched beach.
Bai Chay is an island with 6km long, the widest part is 2km and it covers an area of 1145.85 ha with a hilly or mountainous terrain. The highest peak is 162m. The northern part of the island is Cua Luc Bay where there is highway 18A opened since 1930s. The southern part of the island overlooks Ha Long Bay where there is a Ha Long road built since 1959. Reu Island is 300m away from the shore (easily to be seen when going from Bay Chay Tourist port towards the Bay). The eastern part has the ferry port (it is now a bridge) connecting with Hong Gai ward. B12 oil terminal is the largest petroleum port in the country, before 1965 it used to be Navy port.
Before 1979, Bai Chay had been a large town, and bordered with Viet Hung and Hoang Bo district. In April1979, the eastern part was divided into Bai Chay and Gieng Day ward. On 10th August, 1981 Bai Chay was officially part of Hong Gai town. Today visitors can visit Bai Chay by going with the Ha Long – Bai Chay tour 2 days 1 night, or they can sleep on the Halong cruise for 2 days 1 night to get to Bai Chay.